Decades Of Collective

Home Blog 10 Things That Can Happen if You Get a DUI

Arizona DUI laws are rather harsh and unyielding. The State of Arizona has enacted laws that prohibit a person from driving when that person has a Blood Alcohol Concentration or BAC of .08 percent or higher. This measurement is now considered the standard for per se DUI by all 50 states. However, it may be difficult to determine how much alcohol a person can consume before he or she reaches a BAC of .08.

What Actually Happens When You Get Arrested For A DUI?

There are a series of events that usually follow a DUI arrest, and none of them are pleasant. Once an officer deems you under the influence, there are ten things that may happen in rapid succession:

  1. You will be taken to a police station.
  2. You will be fingerprinted.
  3. You will be photographed.
  4. You will be held in a cell until you have someone pay your bail or you are brought up for arraignment.
  5. You will appear in court where you will face the judge and answer to your charge
  6. You will be required to plead guilty, not guilty or nolo contedere to the DUI and any other charges you have incurred.
  7. You will ask for bail if it has not already been set.
  8. You will be required to post bail or bond through a pledge of property or payment of cash.
  9. You will be given a date to appear in court for sentencing or trial.
  10. You will be required to surrender your license.

The state of Arizona has steep fines and punishments for individuals who drive under the influence. Penalties for a first-time DUI conviction may include a 90-day mandatory license suspension, fines starting at $250 and jail time of up to 10 days with a minimum required 24-hour stay. It is possible that you may get probation in place of some jail time, but probation also has fees associated with it that can be very expensive.

You may also be subject to other sanctions such as completion of a drug and alcohol education program in which a counselor will perform an assessment of your drinking habits. You may also have to attend hours of drunk driving prevention classes and install an ignition interlock device, which requires the driver to have alcohol-free breath in order for the vehicle to start. Your car insurance rates will almost certainly increase, and you may be required to get SR-22 insurance.

What To Do If You Are Arrested

If you have been charged with a DUI, you are in danger of losing your driving privileges as well as facing large fines and possible jail time. The Law Offices of Alex Lane have been aggressively handling DUI cases in the Phoenix and surrounding parts of Arizona for over a decade. Contact the Law Offices of Alex Lane and let our knowledge and experience ease your anxiety and help you resolve your case.


If you have been charged with a DUI, drug charge, sex crime or any serious criminal offense, let an experienced defense team fight for you. Schedule a consultation with one of our partners today. Call (480) 562-3482 or send an email.